Varsity Football · Comets Place 4 on 1st Team All-District

The 2A District 8 All-District Teams were announced Wednesday afternoon. The Comets placed four on the 1st Team and one named the defensive player of the year in the district.

Defensive End Jadley Cox was named Defensive Player of the Year in 2A District 8. Cox finished with 77 tackles and 27 for a loss while recording 8 sacks. He was a force all season long.

Brandon Sullivan was named 1st Team All-District Runningback while the leader of the Comet line, Jyson Grider, was named 1st Team All-District Offensive Line. Sullivan finished with 1,134 yards and 12 touchdowns while averaging 6.4 yards per carry.

DE Joseph Bodkins was named 1st Team All-Distrixt anchoring the other side of the defensive line leading the team in sacks with 11. He recorded 46 tackles and 23 tackles for a loss. Spencer Throneberry touted 1st Team All-District Linebacker. He lead the Comets in tackles with 88.

Other receiving votes who were named to Honorable Mention were Offensive Lineman Dillon Gaspar and Carl Turner. Senior Linebackers Barley Byrne and Connor Schreiber and Defensive Back Jack McDonald we’re named Honorable Mention on the defensive side of the ball. Schreiber totaled 50 tackles and 6 sacks. Byrne recorded 6 sacks and 45 tackles. Sophomore Jack McDonald had 50 tackles and 3 interceptions.